Poetry

Seafarer

Jill Blinick
Scribe
Published in
2 min readFeb 14, 2024

--

Photo by yanstav on iStock

My quiet is seamlessly fading today
Ocean wind opened my window shutters
Sun is low, warm and blazing
I am at peace, but I also feel crazy
I see him in the distance sailing in with the tide
I should go, I should start to prepare,
to welcome back my beloved seafarer

He is made out of rogue waves and earth
His is made out of wind, rain and water
He’s been traveling far and his memories
Wash out with waves like words in the sand
He forgot how to speak and connect to the land
What is it that he’s seen out there?
He’s back, but you can’t really tame a seafarer

You must think I am landlocked and alone
You must think I miss you when you’re gone
But loneliness left me last time you were here
My life became mine without you near
I know more than I’ll ever share
Take us there, to the end of nowhere
Let’s make love, my handsome seafarer

Maybe we are celebrating our wins
Maybe we are healing from defeats
I never know the full story
I don’t ask, wonder or worry
I don’t try to avert his departure
He’s already departed out there
The man I know as the seafarer

© 2024 Jill Blinick. All Rights Reserved.

--

--