Starbells

Sana Moon
Scribe
Published in
1 min readJun 11, 2023
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Starbells in my chest
Chiming in the breeze,

The silken haze
Clinging to my lungs.

Something in me moves,
The shudder of another time,

I seek the sun
With open eyes.

What do you hide between glimmering rays?
Where is that thing I lost?

And where are you, stranger,
Swept in by the tide?

Pink rush,
Songdust
Dancing in my eye –

The one word
Still groaning through the sky.

Am I the dark
Bed of whispers
You wake in the night to?

Undreamt dream of yesterday —
Soft scent runs through you,
Old flesh remembers,
Deep where the mind might
Wish me away…

It’s ok –
I am naked too.

I writhe
And ache
And draw flowers on my face.

The trees make me strong.
I run after the breeze,
It’s been so long…

Long enough now
To leave it to rest,
To run with open breath
Into the place
Where the moonflowers grow,

Ingest the roots,
The heat, the glow,
Run into morning,
Run where I will,
Til the birdsong leaves me
In the mist of the hill.

--

--