The Human World

And two red foxes in the dark night

Thomas Gaudex
Scribe

--

Photo by Ray Hennessy on Unsplash

Last night on my way home from tennis practice at around 10:30 pm, I came across two red foxes going up the roadside embankment one behind the other, right next to the wood where I spent years building huts during the 1990s. As the headlights of my car flashed on the fur of the two foxes, no doubt frightened by my disturbing metallic presence, which lasted only a few tenths of a second, here is what a voice inside my head whispered to me: stop the car, turn off the engine, turn off the headlights, leave all your stuff in the car, go outside, lose all humanity until you too become a red fox, leave the tarmac, join your two friends under the stars and the freezing cold, in the dark night. I quickly came to my senses, went home, took a long shower, and returned to my notifications, which were wisely waiting for me to take care of them. So goes the human world.

--

--

Thomas Gaudex
Scribe

Writer | Poet | Editor of Scribe | Literature and Nature help me breathe | thomasgaudex.co