The Lamp and the Desk

A poem about inevitabilities

Bradley J Nordell
Scribe
Published in
2 min readApr 26, 2021

--

Photo by 𝓴𝓘𝓡𝓚 𝕝𝔸𝕀 on Unsplash

I sent a prayer,
to an equation,
to solve the weariness
of living.
Incalculable despair
and 1/0 nightmares.
But all my moments
have now diverged or digressed
from you,
from the place I regret.

I don’t have faith
in mortal love stories
or heroic quests
to save my soul.
I don’t have trust
in the code written,
in my neural space
without doubt,
without indignant hands
of entropy and time,
squeezing nihilistic truth
from my Buddhistic light.

There was a house
with a garden and a dog.
There was a couch,
a kitchen aroma,
fingers coiled,
dreams shared,
in your blue estoile eyes
and ring that connected,
eternal smiles and laugher
that seemed to bounce,
of all art glittered walls,
doorways to love’s
fathomless kingdom abound.

--

--

Bradley J Nordell
Scribe

Author, poet, quantum physicist, photographer, explorer of the mind and imaginary worlds. New book "The Second Sky" is available now!