The Origins of Scribe

Do you know why I chose this name for the publication?

Thomas Gaudex
Scribe

--

Today, I’m going to tell you something in confidence. I admit that I have never said how and why I chose to call the publication what it is: Scribe. Maybe you don’t care, or maybe you already know the answer, since the name is quite explicit. But I would like to share with you in a few words the origins of the publication, and why the name I chose is not a coincidence. It will be very short and crisp, don’t worry.

When I created the publication, I wanted its name to be representative of the editorial line I had imagined for it. In my mind, the name had to be intimately linked to writing and writers.

It was important to me that the reader understood that he is in a place where the light is put on words and emotions. In addition, I wanted the name to be short, easily recognizable, and understandable in both French and English.

Being interested in Ancient Egypt and the time of the Pharaohs, I did some research and soon came across the meaning of Scribe, which in the historical sense refers to a person who practices writing. I couldn’t find anything better!

For the record, here are a few words from Wikipedia that tell us who the Scribes were in Ancient Egypt:

The scribe (from the Latin scriba…

--

--

Thomas Gaudex
Scribe

Writer | Poet | Editor of Scribe | Literature and Nature help me breathe | thomasgaudex.co