Reflections in Nature | Guardians of the Seeds — Lilja

The Scent of Wildflowers

A Free Verse Poem

Sam Aureli
Scribe
Published in
2 min readSep 18, 2023

--

Lilja, a Guardian of the Seeds, Photo by Author

The singing came from afar,
a melodic voice carried by the wind.
With it came the scent of wildflowers
from pastures and fields that surround the great
woods of old, found somewhere between
the mountains and the rocky coast.

I followed the song and ventured beyond
where my eyes met the horizon. Over hills
and through the valleys, I was driven by the call
to press on. Though pursued by storms, I did not
relent, and when my legs could take me no further,
I stumbled upon a colorful palette beyond remark.

My eyes welled with tears as rows of Evening
Primrose, Chicory, and Forget-me-nots covered
fields beyond my vision. The violet of Mariposa
Lilies blended with the yellow of Wallflowers
and the red of California Poppies. I stood motionless
and was overwhelmed with delectable fragrances.

--

--