Three Years

A poem

Samantha Lazar
Scribe
Published in
Feb 16, 2023

--

Photo by eberhard 🖐 grossgasteiger on Unsplash

I still pick up my phone to call you
from time to time
before I remember your phone
is in my dresser drawer
the last text I sent you
remains when I power it up
I could take it to one of those
drop boxes
cash for your old phones
but that’s still too final
as if the inner workings
might contain the connections
of our history

Samantha Lazar 2023

Thank you for reading. Samantha Lazar is a writer, poet, and teacher living in North Carolina with the loves of her life. She is the author of Reaching Marrakesh and Soon We’re All Gone To Seed. You can read unlimited stories by Samantha Lazar on Medium (as well as many other talented writers) by becoming a Medium member. Stay inspired!

--

--

Samantha Lazar
Scribe

Poetry, fiction, and essays in celebration of being a lover of life. https://linktr.ee/lazarsamantha