BOOKS AND READING

Bookmarks

Paras Ali
The Scriber’s Nook
2 min readFeb 22, 2024

--

Books have a historic romance with bookmarks. Book enthusiasts often collect bookmarks of varying shapes, colors, and themes as they purchase books. I personally adore browsing through Etsy for its delightful bookmark collections.

Remember those days in school when you’d try your hand at crafting bookmarks during Art Class? I distinctly recall my first bookmark, which was inspired by the librarian’s suggestion: “dog-earing pages is a crime while keeping books clean is a virtue.” As part of a Sunday assignment in Grade 5, the whole class created bookmarks.

Mine was quite simple and rough. I took a recycled ice cream stick, colored diagonal popsicle slashes on its tail, and cut out a pine tree from green chart paper to glue upside down. As a reward, I received two smiley stickers on my cheek from the teacher. For years, I cherished that bookmark as a vital part of my memory lane, tucked in the heart of a side table. However, cross-country moves made me dispose of it in the bin.

When you discard something, you lose all rights to touch, cuddle, and reminisce about moments long gone.

In my late teens, I found that bookmarks were replaced by my hairpins, to earrings, lip gloss, to peacock feathers, dried berries to cotton fluff. Personal possessions became more convenient for marking favorite passages. They were given rights to roam freely in the books.

Today, bookmarks have undergone a digital makeover. They’re sleek, sophisticated, and beautifully designed. You can even customize them with your favorite quote. I recently brought back home a Frida Kahlo-themed bookmark, and I am enamored by its beauty.

Photo by Author — Paras Ali

I ‘m sharing a few chunks of her poetry here :

You deserve a lover who listens when you sing, who supports you when you feel shame and respects your freedom; who flies with you and isn’t afraid to fall.

You deserve a lover who takes away the lies and brings you hope, coffee, and poetry.

- Frida Kahlo

Have you ever bought a writer-themed bookmark??

Thank you for reading and supporting The Scriber’s Nook. We publish five days a week — Monday to Friday inclusively 🖋️🌟📚

--

--