In the City of Lights, I Lost You

Beauty is only skin-deep

Paras Ali
The Scriber’s Nook
3 min read2 days ago

--

Image by the Author

The first time I saw him, a rain of light descended from the clouds. Each corridor of the sky was lit with lustrous lanterns emitting intoxicating flickers. The glimmering light broke into headlights of automobiles marching one by one to steal the attention. Lamborghini, Ferrari, and Porche march from the streets to the mouth of the bays. Then I fell for you, in a princely demeanor, eyes artificially bright, and a smile so hollow. This theatrical stage stole my heart but little did I know all that glitters is not gold. To gain the prince oh my precious, in the city of lights, I lost you.

On acres long, his castle spread. Electronic elevators on each floor, and turquoise private pools by each door. Spring was all around his feet and autumn was all set to become his eye’s feast. He was summer, at times winter but I forgot his soul was sinister. Servants dwarfed themselves to be crumpled under his orders, they buzzed around him like tiny birds. From this luxury, Impressed and obsessed I too was captured. Oh my precious, in the city of lights, I lost you.

He sported with the blood-greedy whales while you played fetch with paws and tails. He was hungry for flesh while you always looked for love, empathy, and respect. He sounded like an unpalatable chapter but you were the simplest love letter. From north to east to south, he was guarded by robo-beasts yet you had only one weapon to armor yourself and your loved ones the best; the tender heart and the humane head. Finding you so mediocre I erased you. Oh, my precious in the city of lights, I lost you.

Credits :

The above poetic prose carries an inspiration from the brilliantly written piece by J.D. Harms The City .

Background :

Dubai, with all its artificial attractions and magnificent skyscrapers, possesses a unique charm and a vibrant tourist following. Once an Arabian fishing village, it has transformed into one of the world’s most popular metropolitan cities, leaving visitors in awe and showcasing the extraordinary potential of scientific advancement.

The extravagant aura that Dubai holds, however, at times, can dull your senses, leading to high levels of depression. You start to feel like a machine yourself, surrounded by people who seem more like robots.

Image by the Author
Image by the Author

Rain is created artificially here by cloud seeding!

Image by the Author

Images of the sky-kissing buildings and a city that is awake 24 / 7.

Thanks a lot The Scriber’s Nook 🙏♥️.

--

--