Why i use Linux — GNU/Linux

asem bused
Script Diary.sh
Published in
2 min readJan 3, 2018

It’s all started with curiosity and a challenge to myself, what is linux ? can i use it ? how it differ from other operating system (windows, OSX ) ?

with my low understanding of computer and confidence in windows operating skill, i left my room with comfy couch that called “windows” and go through a door with a penguin picture on it . Inside i felt really helpless, anxious, and uncomfortable with many new stuff i see.

It feels like everything i know about computer is being stripped into something far from “understand”. Of course it’s not like i cant do stuff that i can do before, but it give me more option, more “freedom” for what i can do with my own place, my own maid. Unlike my comfy couch where i can call my all-know maid and tell her to do something with just a single button, here i can call my maid, told her what to do, scold her, spy on her, interrupt her work, and might also help my maid when she having a problem.

I’m sure some of you reading this will say that i could do the same on my comfy chair. yeah i believe i could do that as well (now) , but it’s not explicitly shown that i could do such stuff to my maid which help most of my work. On the contrary it seems like they don’t want me to get closer with my own maid, they believe my maid can, and will do everything that i needs. But the truth is she will ask her trainer for advice, snoop my information, and do something that i don’t want her to.

Of course there are some drawback that i found while working with my maid, like accidentally deleting my entire data, losing my system (software), lost my game progress, and many more. But all those accidents, errors, frustration and disappointment are a beautiful experience that we’ve been through. There also a time where you can laugh with yourself and friends about your past experience(mostly mistake) working with your maid.

Last but not least, i found many awesome people by understanding on how my system work and how to establish a good relationship with my maid. most of em is really nice , helpful and always welcome everyone who wants to learn. Those people help me become who i am right now, writing this post for you guys reading this.

oh yeah if you still dont know what im talking about maid, it’s basically operating system. it’s just my own way describing my operating system haha.
TL;DR: i love how GNU/linux give me more explicit freedom and control than windows does.

--

--