A Lingering Farewell

Goodbye Grandmere

Nicholas B Girard
Scrittura
1 min readJul 6, 2020

--

Photo taken by Nicholas Girard

I already said my goodbyes.

I said goodbye with that last crib peg,

and you told me you let me win.

You never let anyone win.

None of us do,

too much of you within our code.

I said goodbye, with the names

you could no longer remember,

the voices you'd forgotten.

I said goodbye as I listened to you

slipping back into your mother tongue.

Then none at all.

I said goodbye, as it ate away at you.

The deterioration, the regression

Chipping away at who we used to know.

The distance and faith

kept us apart for so long.

A rift nearly too late mended

by long car trips,

perfectly made crepes,

and final understanding.

Still I never really knew you.

Was never very close.

Distance and disease saw to that.

So I do not grieve for myself,

but for your progeny.

My patriarch

who truly knew you,

whom you raised

the best you knew how.

His stories and tales

were my closest link

to knowing you.

The fog and the rosary,

failed flambe, bridge,

and the trunk.

The memories built

by my father and time,

despite the distance divide.

Though not mine,

they’re held dearly.

As we all say goodbye.

©Nicholas B Girard 2020

--

--

Nicholas B Girard
Scrittura

Biochemist, fantasy and sci-fi writer, builder of worlds and manipulator of time, fiction author, poet, dreamer, and the chronicler of unfinished tales.