Free Verse Poetry

A Year of Healing and Self-Discovery

Learning to heal can be a confusing journey sometimes. Here is an excerpt from my journal.

Mahin
Scrittura

--

Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

For me, this year was about finding the balance between self-love and love for others.
Finding the sweet-spot between self-respect and devotion to those around me.
There is great power in validating my own emotions, I learned.
But most importantly, this year was about appreciating and accepting my own vulnerability.
Something I fought hard to extinguish for most of my life,
Because strong, independent women are devoid of vulnerabilities, right?
Ah, the naivety of youth!

This year was about eliminating the biases of love and pain to perceive people as who they show up to be.
It was about realizing that blood and genes contribute very little to building bridges of love and empathy.
It was about the liberation that comes with cutting ties with those who continually focus on the worst of me.
Those who belittle me in the name of caring.
Those who fail to notice consistent compassion for a momentary flash of annoyance.

There are those full of anger and rigidity.
A reflection of their relationship with themselves but presented as a blame on me.
This year was about identifying the toxicity and begin the process of pruning.
It was about upholding my boundaries.
And prioritising my peace.
About nurturing friendships where I feel valued,
And pledging to never speak negatively to myself, about myself.

This year was about implementing emotional first aid.
About focusing on my enoughness,
And building on that everyday.

Thank you so much for reading. If my writing resonates with you, you can find more on my Medium profile.

--

--

Mahin
Scrittura

What: Brain dump of creativity. Why: Building a habit.