Actor, Acting

01 May 2021 Saturday Poetry Prompt: capitalize this

J.D. Harms
Scrittura

--

Photo by Elijah Ekdahl on Unsplash

I Am Not Any Good At Letting Go. I Have Lined Up All The Past Failures Against All The Future Ones, Sure I Can Make The Towers Taller, Sure I Can Make Up For The Scraping Of Ideas Intruding Sketch Of A Skull. You Get To The Spot Where All Your Holes Were Made, Where Nothing Ever Gets Covered Up. Where You Encounter Something Of The Universe In All Your Excess Wishes, Victims Of Trains Of Thought, Of Worrying About Streams Of Consciousness Flooding Even Though It’s A Dry Year

Even Though The Sense Of Being Totally Alone Has Flooded, Not Actually Any Moisture, No Floodway Opening Required. Not This Year, But We’re Acting, Chafing At Our Bits, At The Remnants Of Words Gone Sour, The Taste — -But What Is This Supposed To Be? And Of Course I’m Watching This Sad Show, This Loss, That Loss, Tight Up In The Chest, Bounding For Any Door I See. Stellar Deprivation. The Gravity Of The Constant Upset.

The Moment You Realize You’re The Actor.

J.D. Harms 2021

Prompt:

In his incredible erotic and evocative work, Beautiful Losers, Cohen pens several extremely moving pages where prayers/musings go on with the first letter of every word capitalized. I’ve seen others do it, though I can’t remember where. I thought it might…

--

--

J.D. Harms
Scrittura

Writing to share beauty and pain. None of us are alone in either.