Alternative wiring

A poem

Janani K
Scrittura
2 min readMar 16, 2024

--

Photo by Lucas K on Unsplash

I went to see two friends
One of them hugged me
I opened my arms and just stood there
Let it happen
It was over in a second
My other friend stood by
Giving me side eye
I had told them both before
I cannot touch, my brain is wired wrong

The girl I like
Told me that she'd find me boring
She was absolutely right
I do not know how to kiss
How to hold a hand
I know that it's normal
But I would freeze and just won't
There's not much variety I can offer
I cannot touch, my brain is wired wrong

The dying lady, I held her hand
I made myself, she's dying after all
There are worse things
Than experiencing touch
Making people feel reviled
Withholding love
A mistake once made but never again
Not a good enough excuse that
I cannot touch, my brain is wired wrong

Oh, but this constant feedback
That I'm not human enough
Everybody does it, why can’t you?
Pretend, adapt, mask, avoid
"Why don't I mean to you
what you mean to me?"
Oh but do you have any idea?
I don't know how to show!
I cannot touch, my brain is wired wrong

It’s just so much easier to be alone

--

--