Anastasia

A poem

Andrew Okri
Scrittura
1 min readJul 22, 2024

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

Face rounded in smile
Eyes in joyous slit closed
To my gaze she pondered
A silent question in her regale

Akimbo upon her broad waist
Through me she peered
What manly purpose is thy query
Tell me what secret behind your gaze

The allure of my arrested interest
My silent connection undenied
She shuffles from feet to feet
Contain herself she must

The tell is spilled
Upon her rosy cheeks
The flutters in her chest
The cracked face, my wicked smile

For one gaze
A thousand emotions
What to do
When thy heart is stirred so
What to do
When thy head is muddled so

Through the tempest hold tight
For the borrowed night comes to end
And the hour’s love is brought to reason
Such clear head comes with wonder

This day, Common sense
And love are enemies
For one is of the head
And the other of the heart
Oil and water

To the current be one
And let tomorrow write itself

By Andrew Okri

--

--

Andrew Okri
Scrittura

A poet of the copious jiffy. A student of life’s philosophies, technologist, mathematician and musician.