my personal pic

Character Traitz

A Conversation

Ian Cunnold
Published in
Nov 10, 2020

--

She said,
"You're just such a dick,"
I said,
"I am, I admit."
She said,
"You're also a prick."
I said,
"Can't argue one bit."
She said,
"If you weren't such a jerk,
things might actually work, but you're just such a dick ."

... that got me thinking a bit.

I had to ask myself how,
I had come to be viewed,
as anything other than
handsome and shrewd,
witty and gifted,
twisted yet straight.
Yes, it’s hard to define
my best character trait...

She said,
"You're a boor,
a dork and a schmo."

I said,
"if there's anything more,
would you please let me know."
She said, "Yes, there is, as a matter of fact.
You're a doofus, a doorknob,
a schmuck and a hack.
An a-hole, a moron, a wanker, a nerd,
a cretin, a loser, a meathead, a turd
."

... that got me thinking a bit.

I had to ask myself how,
she had come to perceive,
I was anything other than
slightly naive.
My polish, my savvy, refinement and svelte,
were lost on this woman,
I regrettably felt.
I begged that she listen,
I asked that she wait,
till I could reveal,
my best character trait...

Ian Cunnold

--

--