KNOW THYSELF

Confrontation

If I’d been Eve, I’d have eaten the whole apple

Jenine "Jeni" Baines
Scrittura
Published in
3 min readDec 7, 2021

--

Photo by Tadeusz Lakota on Unsplash

To know thyself is the beginning of wisdom.” Socrates

I quake
before Confrontation’s shadow –
the tips of its perfectly manicured fingers
powder-dipped for extra resistance
and formidable resilience
in Big Apple Red polish,
limbs enlarging, top-coated with enticement
like Eve’s tree.

Do I pluck destiny,
turn its shiny promise in my hands –
bruises, beauty marks –
then take a bite,

many bites, till there is no fruit left for Adam?

I suspect this is what he’d prefer –
remaining there, rooted,
in his second chakra paradise
of loud sex, drugs, rocking,
addictive rolling on.

Farewell, mock paradise lost, limbo-ing.
I am done

covering the ears of my most private parts.
Let’s you and I, Eve,
heed Confrontation’s clarion call

--

--

Jenine "Jeni" Baines
Scrittura

Little old lady from Pasadena. Granny going, going, going...fueled by the Light within Beauty. Head over heels in love with words. and words.