Did You Ever See the Light?

10 April Saturday poetry prompt: repeatable

Ann Marie Steele
Scrittura

--

Photo by Mark Basarab on Unsplash

I dream that I have burning hair
Boiled arms that claw the air
The torso of an iron king
And on my back a broken wing
~ from The Shrouded Stranger, Allen Ginsberg New York 1949–1951

I dream that you are two again
Soft on my lap beg for a swim
The slide invites us to climb up
Then abruptly I wake up.

Memories fade as time proceeds
Hoping you still think of me
Eyes like windows in grey night
Did you ever see the light?

Cold flesh is hard on my last touch
Folded in your lap hands are such
Run my fingers through your hair
And it is more than I can bear.

Do seraphs know of their mistake?
A star so bright they dare not take
Not meant to dim for years to come
Can reality be undone?

Cinders fires my heart to clay
Rare soul your last burning ray
A see a blue jay fleeting past
Is this your gift to me I ask?

--

--

Ann Marie Steele
Scrittura

I write about love and loss, what I observe and experience — I write about hope. My writing has been described as resiliently defiant.