Echoes of Light

A Prose Poem

Era Garg
Scrittura
1 min readMar 8, 2021

--

Image by the writer

Stiff smiles smitten with inflamed abscesses dampened by emotions; poisonous or potion like, my scruples about elevating to my spire, itchy; lachrymose eyes have fluttered at velocity of freedom once, yet long ago
Ouch! my crusty rind ruffled by zephyr crossing the garden in a trice, smashing inertia, my gashes agape, cicatrices oozing out adrenaline, I lofted the malaise over the air and flew up to attic, unbolting the windows and skylights
A coin from moon, a jar ajar with brittle swarm of asphyxiated glow worms, a feather torn off a cloud, an aquacolor pan rain forgot behind, the undone; unwritten; unpainted stacks of yellowing dreams, also my footprints climbing a tree
Vernalization is over, my energy going to give a taste of chlorophyll to chilly air, hoisting haemoglobin and resuscitating my passion, I radiate sparks of forgetting and forgiving, far subtler than glow worms
My sap tugging my wooden frame to move over unbridled for new heights, my whole being including my bruised veins and scraped epidermis fully labile to join chemical extravaganza going on in and around me

Footnote: Thanks to J.D. Harms for the Wednesday prompt “what wounds look like as they heal"

Era Garg March 2021

--

--

Era Garg
Scrittura

An enthusiast balancing chemistry with pen & poetry, painting nature , exploring my identity in universe.