Famine

Of the unsatiated

Janani K
Scrittura
1 min read19 hours ago

--

Photo by Larm Rmah on Unsplash

Be so beautiful that I can’t leave
That my wrists are bound
So that I have no choice but to follow you around
Even though my pieces say
“Run, leave, you’ll only bring ruination”
Then you can point at my wrists and say
“Oh but you can’t, not when I was the one who bound you”
Say that this is your doing
That you’d welcome devastation
Just for one taste

In Introduction to Free Will
I was branded sinner and fallen
To be all that pollutes and dooms
A harbinger of destruction and gloom
I know this to be categorically untrue
But then winter comes
Brings with it the phantom aches
And reminders
Of irreversible carvings
On the very skin I’ll wear unto my grave

The desires of the undeserving
Crafted fleeting by design
Where they anchor do not last
Sinking fleets have no respite
But you can just be beautiful
That the sea dries and tempest calms
And I am stilled for one blessed moment
Witnessed like sunrise
Breathed in like petrichor
Tasted and beloved

--

--