Gaze

At the Distance, and Inside

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
Scrittura
1 min readMar 7, 2020

--

Gazing in Iceland — photo by Kathy Bridgeman

As I gaze into the distance
Destiny seems so far
Beyond my reach of want
How long will it take to get there?

What if I arrive too late?
What will I do then?
What if it’s not what it seems?
Will a new destiny appear?

So many questions
Too few answers
This gaze leaves me empty and
Wanting for what I know not.

Forget about the distance
Gaze instead inside
What do I need right now?
Which step is next to take?

These are questions with answers,
Found in the here and now
What’s here is now, and here I go
Next step becomes now, when I take it.

The distance will always be
Out there, out of reach,
My destiny is right now
I make it with each step.

Down the road I’ll gaze
Back from where I came
I’ll stop to admire the journey
Then take the next step forward.

Thanks J.D. Harms for the great prompt!

--

--

Hawkeye Pete Egan B.
Scrittura

Connecting the dots. Storytelling helps me to make sense of this world, and of my life. I love writing and reading. Writing is like breathing, for me.