Getting Out of Vim

A nerdy poem about exiting Vim

Pat Alcala
Scrittura
2 min readMar 7, 2024

--

Image made by the Author

This poem can only be understood by specific people
People who visited the community of Linux
Improved by a Neo, let’s keep that description simple
I can’t explain further without ending up writing books

In these modern times, it’s easy to write in a terminal
And escaping with a colon can grant you the ability to command
Yet somehow, stepping out can be very critical
Now I’m stuck on this mouse-less and keyboard-full island

I already colonized, so I have the command, right?
So, I gave it a Q, but without the apostrophe
q! feels too aggressive; I’m calm as a kite
“No write since last change,” such a strange strategy

W and Q brought a colon with them; what are they up to?
What can I say? Weirdos and quirks do everything oddly
They are not my enemies. In fact, I support that kind of brew
Now they’re saved and went off, which made me smile proudly

I’m not planning to bash anyone, if that is your concern
You’re protected by this armor, the hard shell of Z
Crafted by Oh My, who lived in conf village, where it was earned
But if you prefer others, there’s plenty of fish in the sea

I need to exit now with one small letter
An X paired with two repeating dots in vertical alignment
I like that, It’s easy to type and quick to remember
Minor as it is, to me, it’s a satisfying fulfillment

© 2024 Pat Alcala. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Pat Alcala
Scrittura

Computer Engineer, Writer, and Technology enthusiast | Buy me a coffee https://ko-fi.com/patalcala