Goodbye, James Brennan

A break from prompt week to celebrate James

Paroma Sen
Scrittura

--

Photo by Róbert Toman on Unsplash

Goodbye, my friend.

A few days back, some of us that are connected on social media learned that our dear friend and co-writer on several publications, James Brennan, passed away.

I will take a break from the prompt series this week, to both create a space where we can speak about him and others we have lost and mourn his untimely departure.

I got acquainted with James and his writing in 2020, when the specific and solitary nature of Covid drove huge numbers of writers to connect and share over Medium.

My association with James was through reading and mutually supporting each other’s work. I remember his responses to always be cheerful, complimentary, and accompanied by a large number of emoticons. An expression that I felt I had to reflect back in kind.

James lived in Thailand with his wife and ran a beach-front restaurant. That is the most I know about him.

I also know he had a large heart, and a curious mind. His writing often involved research into stories and historical time periods. His characteristic irreverent verve was always part of his writing and was what drew many friends and followers to him.

--

--

Paroma Sen
Scrittura

“Do not go gentle into that good night, but rage, rage, rage against the dying of the light.”