I Dare You

Response to “Phalaena” by Carlos Fioretti

Ann Marie Steele
Scrittura

--

Phalaena, by Carlos Verger Fioretti (Spain, b. France) 1920. https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?search=carlos+fioretti&title=Special:MediaSearch&go=Go&t

I am the Ice Queen
immune to the pins and pricks
of your whimsical touch

let me voodoo you with my torch

Beware, would-be lover
my fiery, frigid stare
my raven eyes all aflicker

like Icarus, your lust is my must

Count to three, oh so slowly,
drawing in my finespun scent
as I scatter smoke signals like Sirens

yet be careful lest you choke

Lean in a bit closer, dear
graze my pearly, lilac skin
let my blood-orange inferno

ignite your thirst from within

Inhale deeply my bouquet, my love
but not without a fee
just try to dodge my silky lair

I dare you, pretty please.

Ann Marie Steele

~ This piece was written and recently published as a response to an image prompt (Phalaena by Carlos Fioretti) in “The Ekphrastic Review”, one of the journals that Melissa Coffey recommended in one of her outstanding pieces outlining to writers

--

--

Ann Marie Steele
Scrittura

I write about love and loss, what I observe and experience — I write about hope. My writing has been described as resiliently defiant.