I Talk to my Brain

A Poetic Look at a Troubled Relationship

Jeff Burton
Scrittura
1 min readApr 20, 2024

--

Photo by Gaspar Uhas on Unsplash

My brain and I
are frequently not on speaking terms

My brain thinks things
that I wish it didn’t
My brain does not seem
to like me much

My brain returns me
to memories I’d rather forget,
memories that no amount of therapy
or medication can compel
into a blissful sleep

My brain wishes to talk to me
at times that are inconvenient to me,
like the hours before dawn
when I should be sleeping

I don’t understand this
since according to my reading
my brain benefits from a good night’s sleep

Nevertheless,
this seems to be the time
when my brain wants to punish me
for my life lived thus far

Perhaps it is because
in these early hours
I am most vulnerable to psychic pain

I seem to be a passenger in a brain
deformed and beaten by trauma
and petty self-interest

I’d like to think
I’m better than my brain
gives me credit for

Poor fellow,
my brain

I’d like to hold him in my arms
and say ‘There, there, it will be alright’

And he would sleep at last

--

--

Jeff Burton
Scrittura

An older Australian poet and author who ought to know better by now but does not. He expects to be famous after he is dead.