Identity

A.K. Lazarus
Scrittura
Published in
1 min readMar 28, 2020
PHOTO BY FLICKR USER ANDERS ERIKSSON

Nights scare me.
Not just their darkness but their silence too.
Silence. Loud and deafening.
It forces you to contemplate and spend time with yourself.

But I try my best not to.
Because I don’t know what’s within me.
And I’m scared of the unknown.
I’m scared to get to the heart of my own mind.

So when I can’t sleep at night, I write.
When I’m all alone, I write.
When I’m lonely, I write.
Not because I can but because I have to.

I write and write and write.
And suddenly these incoherent jumble of words in my mind
Turn into pieces of puzzle that actually fit.
And by the end of the day, I know myself a little bit more.

--

--

A.K. Lazarus
Scrittura

In his own way, he lived his life with all the intensity that he could muster.