SCRITTURA WEDNESDAY POETRY PROMPT

It Is What It Is

Go as granular as you like

BJ Dawson
Scrittura
Published in
2 min readMar 9, 2024

--

Photo by Luis del Río from Pexels

Photosynthesis?
I learned of it from science texts,
but I will never truly know how trees
transmute sunlight into sugars,
expelling oxygen as waste.

Go as granular as you like,
down to chloroplast and chlorophyll.

Brings me no closer
to the mechanism I seek;
the spark of life responsible
for its own sake.

Respiration?
I read biology books about it,
but when drawing oxygen into lungs,
manifesting life’s intention
into each cell membrane,
exhaling toxins that no longer serve,

I find that empirical knowledge can
only serve me as far as I can see.

As for poetry?
Yes, though I learned of it first from
nursery rhymes and Dr. Seuss ,
refined later through some of the greats like
Robert Frost and Langston Hughes
and Carl Sandberg and Gwendolyn Brooks,

--

--

BJ Dawson
Scrittura

Medium Top Procrastinator. Guilty of writing under the influence. No, I’m not upset. My face always looks this way. INTP https://cosmicrubble.com/