It Spoke In Your Voice

Saturday Poetry Prompt: relationships

Paroma Sen
Scrittura

--

Photo by Trollinho on Unsplash

Can a relationship be like a ventriloquist’s dummy?

I heard it speaking in your voice. “I will be the wind beneath your wings”.

It covered my ears with its hands when I complained of the shrieking kids outside. To help me sleep.

Love’s rainbow blinding me with parrot green color. While the dummy parroted the words you spoke.

And what about later? When the parrot’s wings lay broken on the ground?

One half torn green feather trails dust still, years later. It hasn’t forgotten.

The dummy sits still, mute in its corner.

The ventriloquist has disappeared. Molecules splintering back into the far reaches of the imagination that once birthed love itself.

Paroma Sen 2021

In response to J.D. Harms’ prompt:

--

--

Paroma Sen
Scrittura

“Do not go gentle into that good night, but rage, rage, rage against the dying of the light.”