Languishing

A Prose Poem

Era Garg
Scrittura
1 min readMay 11, 2021

--

Image by the writer

I feel like an emulsion; my one half dispersed in other half, both immiscible, a combination of spirited and sullen, one half of hope pulls me out of the cold well of darkness, another joyless half leaves the ropes loose, I tumble back to the depths of unfathomable core of time,
Hopeful one picking desires and stringing in a posy to heart’s delight, dismal half pulls the thread violently so there remains only a flurry of fallen leaves,
a pain plumped up by passion feeds hopeful half to rise above clouds, idling streak of wild one keeps peeling off its flesh, bottling the pain in acidic archive,
frolicking half sitting at window yearning for rain dance, drenching in rains cancelled by sulky half since soggy shoes would mud paint the floor, procrastination nibbling at hoofs of about to gallop spunk,
both halves of my colloidal existence in conflict, focus disrupted, work-struck me languishing, chalked up to wild half’s illogical stupefying fatigue, boring, unyielding 'she loves me, she loves me not' kind.

Era Garg

In response to the Wednesday prompt “mixtures and structures" by J.D. Harms in Scrittura.

--

--

Era Garg
Scrittura

An enthusiast balancing chemistry with pen & poetry, painting nature , exploring my identity in universe.