Life Of The Mind

A Poem

Precious Woluchem
Scrittura
2 min readMar 3, 2021

--

Photo by Nik Shuliahin on Unsplash

I’ve been hanging out with myself a lot lately. Nothing lonely, in fact, it’s quite lovely.

Fully concentrating on my wants, my needs. Letting go of all the negativity that the mind feeds.

Being in solitude is what I have, all that protects me. I am with you too, but only till you forget me.

Deciding what’s good or bad for me, doesn’t seem much clear from here.

Still following the path I think I need to take, nothing much left for me to fear.

Yet I keep on going through the storms in my head.

Feeling confused about the decisions that I once led.

Deciding on my goals which keep on changing. I need an anchor in my life to stop things from raging.

What is it we stay alive for, I keep asking myself.

“Just keep going, and keep having faith in thyself”

That’s what keeps echoing from my heart, my soul. Trying to reach out to me to keep me whole.

Should I just say fuck it and just stop caring? Or do I need to be the one to keep on trying?

I want to scream, hunt, tear down the energies holding me back.

To mould them into a figure I could slash and hack. Tired of waiting for guidance from up above. Oh my! Is this what being lazy feels like?

Time to wake up from this distress and keep fighting for what I love.

I am not afraid of dying, just not living. What good is our heart for if it doesn’t keep on healing?

Here I am, trying to find the lost pieces of my broken heart. Trying to fix it together and call it my own art.

I keep laughing at the thought of it all. Like a mad man waiting for his fall.

And when I see the hope fade away from my eyes, I see a ray of light emerging from the ice.

And once again, I see myself fighting another fight. Drawing strength from within and reaching a new height.

Lowell Woluchem

--

--

Precious Woluchem
Scrittura

A voice in black and white. Perception of the far-flung corners of my subconscious. Talk2lowell@outlook.com