Photo by Zias Dubois on Unsplash

Losing Mac Miller

A Poem

emma poe
Published in
3 min readDec 9, 2021

--

It ain’t 2009 no more
Yeah, I know what’s behind that door
Mac Miller (1992 –2018)

i.

2 AM whispers from the walls and
pulls me back to the day you ran over our dog
memories rapidly flood through me as I feel
the excess of saliva in my mouth and attempt to
ignore the island that has grown between us

ii.

I still remember relaxing on the sun porch
your head popping in to cheerfully tell me
it was time for a run to the Sunoco
for a six pack of IPA and did I want anything —
too sleepy from the day’s warmth to answer
how could I know you’d jump into my car
gravitating towards the popped-roof-windows-down summer’s day
my left-behind phone was an oversight as Bluetooth caught
the last song played
a vibrating-bass-way-too-high-up-who-the-hell-turned-up-music

Cinderella

blasted through my car speakers
Mac Miller rapping

--

--

emma poe
Scrittura

“Got a mind full of questions and a teacher in my soul.” Eddie Vedder