Meet me in the dark…

Poem

Anugraha Benjamin
Scrittura
1 min readJun 24, 2021

--

Photo by Marco Trassini on Unsplash

Meet me in the dark,
When the only noises we hear,
Are that of the wind blowing through leaves
And the creatures of the night.

Meet me in the dark,
When the sun is still asleep and the moon is resting behind trees,
We can steal every moment of the night
Until the dawn wakes the sun and blankets our emotions.

Meet me in the dark,
When it’s time to philosophise about life,
About our dreams, our hopes and our fears
The rules we don’t conform with, will not shape our lives.

Meet me in the dark,
When my guardian angels are asleep and I am my vulnerable self,
When the devil tries to cage and caress my wandering soul
As I fight the urge to succumb without a fight.

Meet me in the dark,
When your warmth is my shield against the ghouls,
As I cry disillusioned by the devils all around me
And I realise the devil I fear, is my own.

Anugraha Benjamin

--

--