O Fiery Autumn

Poetry

Era Garg
Scrittura
2 min readNov 14, 2022

--

‘A decaying leaf’ Image by the writer

O fiery autumn, transmogrify me
from stagnant passivity of backwater
to sparkling spring of a lush garden,
refuel my light spectrum blotted by
monstrously mighty currents of time,

Oh! narrow ducts puncture my bounce
to insert food in; expel fluids out
dense spills of Parkinson’s torment

O fiery autumn, soak me, suck me
my visibly unhinged glassy eyes
plucked nerve for lacrymal wetness,
limbs now desperately swinging;
then frozen as chilled stumps,
voice aborted, only blurbing lips,
face almost a gluey configuration;
an overwhelmed swarm of emojis,

O fiery autumn! caress my spirit
my body merely a log of driftwood,
a worm-infested sweet ripe fruit,
a flitting moth stuck in fate’s cobweb,
a mound of bronze chinar leaves;
not perturbed by storm or breeze,
a posy of nerves, flesh, blood, oxygen;
my residue plunge as a falling star

O fiery autumn, kiss and crush me
connect me to the earthly bonds
refurbishing my tints and tones,

If I could send fresh flowers to death
she would have paid a visit perhaps
to punch the bubble of my pink heart
breaking me free from my animation
wait to merge in cosmic insignificance,

O fiery autumn, dignify my futility
instead of mutilated and maimed
in a Halloween pumpkin lantern

I wish to be a frail candle by night,
let my light pass through my pores
from tenebrous maze of the self,
rip open my tangled persona
ashing in thy flames, let me vivify .

Era Garg November 2022

In response to the December 26, 2020 Saturday poetry prompt ‘Sigillaria’ by J.D. Harms in Scrittura.

--

--

Era Garg
Scrittura

An enthusiast balancing chemistry with pen & poetry, painting nature , exploring my identity in universe.