Poetry

Pity Party

No Thanks

Sydney Duke Richey
Scrittura
Published in
1 min readMay 30, 2021

--

Photo by Jean-Jacques Halans on Unsplash

I heard you were having a party.
A pity party.

I won’t be going.
Thanks but no thanks.
Gonna pass.

I considered it.
For about a minute.
Maybe less.

The last pity party you had
wasn’t fun at all.
So, lesson learned.

Word is, you invited some friends
and a few family members.
God only knows why
anyone would go.

I mean seriously.
Why would anyone
subject themselves to that?

Most of them have been to
one or two of your
pity parties before.

Baffled, I shake my head.
What could be gained
by going to another?

Dirt? Gossip?
A bitch session?
Maybe to lend you a
fucking shoulder
to cry on?

--

--

Sydney Duke Richey
Scrittura

Writing from the heart, I’m inspired by everyday experiences. My poems, haiku and non-fiction come from a slice of my life. *Top Writer in Poetry*