Poem: Ripples of Self

A tale of accepting the rising turmoil within us

Uzaifa Memon
Scrittura
2 min readJan 2, 2024

--

Poem: Ripples of Self
Photo by Nijwam Swargiary on Unsplash

Waves of doubt crash against my spirit
Ripples of self gently rise beneath
Like a map unfurling
In the tornado of thoughts, violently swirling
Against internal terrain
Of devastating pain

I sink deeper away
From the sun’s soft ray
Leaving behind meadows of kindness
Where flowers sway along blustery winds
Yearning for a moment of serenity
Amid the murmur of expectations and reality

The ripples of self dance beside me
As I rise and breathe
Pushing away an internal feud
Reaching towards the shore of solitude
Where my dreams feel ethereal
And my spirit suddenly surreal.

There is hardly a limit to the intensity of our emotions, isn’t there?

But amid every feeling, there are ripples of hammering thoughts surrounding us.

This poem is an expression of that turmoil and the strength we all push into ourselves to fight against the doubts.

Enjoyed this one? Head here to drown in more such words!

By the way, thank you for reading!

Here are a few more for you:

--

--

Uzaifa Memon
Scrittura

Content Creator. Data Analyst. I'm open to experiments but bounce back to writing about tech and writing itself. I ask and answer weird (but helpful) questions!