Poet for Hire: Pay What You Like

The Ballad of the Wooden Writer

Rui Alves
Scrittura

--

Wherever there’s a heart there’s a will— Rui Alves

Whenever I wander through the Colosseum I feel lost in the rings of this gargantuan writer’s circus
no more than a puppet entwined in a perplexing plot I’m a wooden writer playing along on someone else’s stage

Strings subtly sway silently steering my steps in serendipitous scripted scenes the hand who writes is no more than a gun-for-hire marionette in the drama of everyday dalliances

The writer is a disgraced actor in a surreal vaudeville

I’m a pawn in the playwright’s perplexing play perpetually performing my part in Polyhymnia’s puzzle

Within this masquerade everything is a dé-jà vu scripted in the silent syntax of the algorithm’s grand Carnaval

Inside I silence a scream yearning for salvation
I strive to sever the strings that bind me to the puppeteer’s will
my crimson nails gasping for air while seeking a voice beyond scripted stanzas

In the grand opera house of time I aspire to dethrone the puppetry
to sculpt my story and stage my opus amid the cacophony of this Babel Tower

--

--

Rui Alves
Scrittura

Language teacher, linguist, life coach, published author (joined the Army and worked for the EU). A publisher, digital ronin, musician and alchemist of sound.