Runaway Train

A poem

Dylan Skurka
Scrittura

--

Photo by Konstantin Planinski on Unsplash

My state of mind right now is a runaway train
Racing on fumes of uncontrollable anger
Its engines churn in a fierce cadence
Ringing in my ears, breaking the sound barrier

The window pane
Stained with hydraulic mist
Projects totems of neglect
Rotten oak, yellow grass
Shapeshifting phantasmagoric images
I wish I could forget

Picking up altitude
The conductor spews platitudes
Fasten your seatbelts, don’t stand up
I don’t listen
Fixing my eyes instead
On an expanding web
Of intersecting avenues

As panic ensues
I remind myself that choice is an illusion
All I have to do is sit back, close my eyes
Have faith I’m going the right way
And be one with the movement

~DS

--

--

Dylan Skurka
Scrittura

Just someone who likes writing about the philosophy of music and the music of philosophy.