Scrittura Writers May Write For Whomever They Wish

This won’t be as eloquent or thorough as Dr Mehmet Yildiz response, but it needs to be said.

J.D. Harms
Scrittura
2 min readJul 8, 2020

--

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Taking my cue from Dr Mehmet Yildiz’s wonderful response to an ugly situation, I want all Scrittura writers to know that they are able to publish in whichever publication they choose, even Assemblage & Loose Words.

However, given the highly questionable actions of that owner/editor, I would caution those who think to write there of his deeply unethical response to faithful writers: it is categorically wrong, unfair, & demeaning to cut writers who have loyally submitted to those publications for no reason other than sending stories to an (allegedly) Medium-violating publication. I am scratching my head: How does that make a difference? There are other avenues he could have pursued if he was really in the right. Truly, we all ought to revel in the beautiful, amazing writing community that Medium has developed.

I will never do that to Scrittura writers.

Medium does have rules & guidelines for the material that they consider appropriate for publication. If you haven’t read these, you can here: https://policy.medium.com/medium-rules-30e5502c4eb4. If I’m aware of these rules being violated, I cannot in good conscience publish those pieces. Most of these rules are common sense. I will certainly not be party to harassing material or hate speech. There is no place for that in the world, period.

Let us all continue to enjoy writing & reading, responding to those works that move us.

Never fear that you’ll be cut from Scrittura without consultation.

If Medium suspends your account for some other action, I have no say in that. Please, my friends. Let’s celebrate the beautiful.

--

--

J.D. Harms
Scrittura

Former hairstylist, perpetual philosophy student, swallowed by poetry, writing, ideas