Soliloquies

30 January 2021 Saturday Poetry Prompt: thinking out loud

J.D. Harms
Scrittura

--

Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

I ran to an imaginary finish line, thinking you’d be there, too. I was wrong in my choice of words, now I have to look around for something to eat besides the half-loaf of bread I had that’s a mold garden, now. I shed something of my stupor before it quickly descends again.

I haven’t taken the time that I should have, haven’t wrested mistakes out of any content, living or virile. And the energy seeps into odd corners of the room, staying hidden. Making trouble.

Because when frustration blooms like no flowers ever, and I’m standing with my hands in my pockets, looking down the empty street, it occurs to me that I might have been left alone. Streetlights retreat in their anxiety to keep it that way.

And, then, when I take a step, why don’t I feel the ground?

J.D. Harms 2021

Prompt:

Occasionally when writing, I find myself saying the words that are going to come next aloud for no particular reason. It’s not something I do all the time…but there’s definitely an aspect of some pieces that share this quality anyway. That is, they read like thinking aloud. Close to stream of consciousness, perhaps. For today’s prompt, thinking out loud, write a piece that exemplifies your subject…

--

--

J.D. Harms
Scrittura

Former hairstylist, perpetual philosophy student, swallowed by poetry, writing, ideas