Spunk

Poetry

Poet Daniel
Scrittura

--

Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Kid’s got spunk,
I thought
as Liam,
the three year old
leaned both hands
against American
Elm bark,
not so slickly vying for
my attention,
peering over his right
shoulder, in between
stalking leaves.

He dropped the
pretense, and came
right up to me,
eyeing me like
a Maine Coon,
except he was more
curious.

Evidently, Liam was
still getting himself
acquainted with this
world, something to
behold on my part.

If a picture is worth
a thousand words,
this kid’s face was
worth none because
no words could
do his expression
justice.

I did my best, however,
to integrate time and
his expression,
not by camera,
but by the power of…

--

--

Poet Daniel
Scrittura

My poetry is a gift to humanity, and I feel compelled to share.