Stellar Syntheses

07 August 2021 Saturday Poetry Prompt: power of an opening question

J.D. Harms
Scrittura

--

Photo by Lance Grandahl on Unsplash

Meeting – how can there be this much sweat between us –

Whistling through a dry humid summer – unending pleas – for the touch –

but this – this is love in a plague though – tempting dreams and some elaborate quiet too – nothing stings lately –

But my hand and face flicker between numb and sensate – I want to lay that to you – but darling I opened up too –

Strings of light – nothing like an eager Christmas an enthusiastic neighbour – a stretch – easily somehow – over 14000kms away…but

I am fucking melting – clearly – I don’t say I am not/have not gone mad – except reason dropped out of this race a while ago –

not content to keep finishing last – that’s got to be someone though, yeah –

Excruciating cleansing —as if I had any luck redirecting my head – I swear I left it with you – between the pillow and your head – or maybe cruising up and down the sheets against your thighs –

An imaginative body springs up – and like some blood-starved cannibals we madly tear into a dialogue that doesn’t require any rain to grow –

--

--

J.D. Harms
Scrittura

Writing to share beauty and pain. None of us are alone in either.