We Were Just.

You own the ‘just.’ I’m taking it back.

just a twenty something
Scrittura
Nov 10, 2020

--

Photo by Sunyu Kim on Unsplash

“Just a coffee, a nice catch-up. I still really want to be friends.”
What? Like that time we met up and spent hours in the cafe.
You were late, I didn’t mind.
You made up for it by buying me a coffee and listening to me.
You talked for hours, we stayed until the cafe was empty.
Like that time I really felt something for the first time.

“It’s such a nice day. Let’s just got for a walk.”
What? Like that time we went to the woods.
You drove, I packed lunch.
You told me your stories and listened to mine.
You held my hand, we walked along the river.
Like that time we kissed for the first time.

“We’re just friends.”
Why? Because it’s convenient for you.
You retain the power,
You decide how far I reach out.
You decide how much I’m allowed to feel.
You own the ‘just.’

I’m taking it back.

This is just a boundary.
My feelings for you are now just a memory.
My book holds a chapter, that is just ours.
I will not write down passages on paper and highlight it with color.
I will not obsessively re-read it and wonder what went wrong.

We just didn’t work.

I’m okay with that now.

-ARTEMIS INKS

--

--

just a twenty something
Scrittura

none of this makes sense but maybe it could still be beautiful.