Joseph Justin
Scrolls and Quills
Published in
1 min readJul 30, 2023

--

Dreams and Nightmares

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I least expected to meet anyone
So, it took me way too long to recognise the signs
From God, and from you
Or, had the fear of rejection stymied me for years?

We never seemed to find the right moment
To express our emotions
It turned into a game of hide and seek
I never seemed to get any of your hints
Nor you, mine
Deaf to your charms it seems
Colour me blind

The thought of not being able to call you my lady
Sends jolts of pain through my body
My heart forgets to beat
There’s levels to this heartbreak
At the end of every tunnel
I discover a new level
So, this is the way it ends

Going through our chats, I reminisce
I admit I’ll always be a prisoner of your love
Maybe this is how it’s supposed to be
Maybe, someday, love will find me
And break those chains that bind me

--

--

Joseph Justin
Scrolls and Quills

Mining Engineer. Frontend Developer. Chelsea FC Fan. Avid Reader. Dabbles in Writing. Occasionally.