Love is Blind

Joseph Justin
Scrolls and Quills
Published in
1 min readAug 11, 2024
Photo by Rajesh Rajput on Unsplash

I put on a bright smile
I crack a tiny laughter even
Because this is one of life’s comedy
Man proposes, God disposes
Que sera sera

Perfect match? That was you
Only person I’ve never found fault with
Thoughts of you
And a smile sweeps across my face
As my heart swells
And my eyes wells
Tears of joy

But is it perfect?
If it never happened?
I guess we don’t get what we really want
Even when we put in the work
Or the effort was just not enough?
Maybe it wasn’t meant to be

How do you mourn a love you never had?
A love you never lost?
Does holding onto hope count as love won?
Does coming a hair close to a gem count?
Or love expressed makes it onto the podium?

The imaginary perfect love
A loved yearned for
The ghost of never was and if clauses
They haunt me
But love is blind,
The sun will rise
And we will try again

--

--

Joseph Justin
Scrolls and Quills

Mining Engineer. Frontend Developer. Chelsea FC Fan. Avid Reader. Dabbles in Writing. Occasionally.