Frame of Reference

Catherine Murray
SCU Global Fellows 2016
3 min readSep 14, 2016

--

While I was in Ghana, I was often asked about the election in the U.S. I should start off by saying that Ghanaians love Obama. There was even a framed picture of the Obama family hanging in the office. I found it difficult to explain the candidates that may eventually replace the beloved Obama because of the complexity of American politics and society. This is the first election where I will be able to vote, so I have tried to keep up with the election and become an educated voter. This has led me to the conclusion “idk anyone but Trump.”

Trump’s slogan, “Make America Great Again,” bothers me a lot. It is meant to imply that America is terrible in it’s current state. It is quite a bold statement. America is not perfect, as no country is, but it is great.

If you are familiar with psychology, then you’re probably familiar with Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. In short, Maslow’s hierarchy suggests that there is a pyramid of needs that we must fulfill in order to achieve self actualization. First you need to satisfy your basic needs such as food and water, and then you can move to the next level in the pyramid. Politics can be viewed similarly. First your country must maintain a certain level of stability, and then it can move on to tackle more complex problems. For example in the U.S., we have established stability and now we struggle with topics such as LGBTQ rights, wage inequality of men and women, and police brutality. As we solve problems and encounter new ones, we continue to move up in the pyramid. Ghana is struggling with more basic needs than the U.S. Power is not available to the entire country. Police bribery occurs daily. Most homes don’t have running water. Almost half of the country lives on less than $1 a day. Their problems are more day to day, while ours are long term issues.

Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs

Obviously both of our countries have problems, but they are very different. Colin Kaepernick is able to protest racial inequality because of freedom of speech. By the same token, people are able to support or criticize his actions through the media. In Ghana, many are struggling to put food on the table. People are afraid of the government because its widely corrupt. Yet Ghanaians are generally very happy. Now that I am back in the U.S., I can understand why. Happiness depends on frame of reference. How we understand and perceive things is dependent on our mindset and way of life. After spending my summer in Ghana and expanding my frame of reference, I have realized we should be happy with what we have. I can understand my own problems in a larger context. I have resolved to be happy with the good things I have rather than being constantly focused on paper dreams. And I hope our country can do the same.

Police bribery occurs directly in front of this sign…the irony.

--

--