Harshitha Mogallapalli
SCU Global Fellows 2016
1 min readJun 15, 2016

--

I have about a week before I head out to the Gambia. In the mean time, I’ve been attempting to tell everyone in the States what I’m going to do for 7 weeks in Western Africa. I usually get as far as I’ll be working at an girls school but other than that, I’m not really sure what the next several weeks of my summer is going to show me. I’m going with the one piece of advice that everyone who has volunteered at Starfish have told me, just go with an open mind and a head filled with ideas. I’m just about as excited as I am incredibly nervous. I’m not really sure what adapting to the culture is going to require of me. I’m going with the confidence that I have been out of the country before and successfully integrated myself into different cultures, but it has never been for this long of a period of time or I haven’t gone without family. I can’t wait to throw myself into the Starfish dream. Well, other than that, I’m not really sure how to blog but hopefully I get better as the summer goes on.

--

--