I’m leaving soon and I’m sad about it.

Zipporah Ridley
SCU Global Fellows 2016
2 min readSep 15, 2016
Across the street from the Kumasi bus station to Accra

Kumasi is a place full of vague fading signage but lively and welcoming people. My experience here is going to be hard to put in to words but I’ll try. It’s made me reexamine my life in America and my own connections with others. I’ve been able to have genuine conversations with people who don’t even speak English and we even understood each other’s jokes. It’s made me dig deeper in to myself to better understand who I am as a person and what kind of global impact I want to leave.

As excited as I am to get home and hug my family and see my friends, it’s all bittersweet but know this isn’t the end, this trip has only been the beginning of the lifelong connections that I have made.

The Santasi Neighborhood in Kumasi, Ghana

Kumasi is a beautiful place, it’s like that story of the rose that grows in concrete. It’s amazing place full of beautiful people who have not only made due with what they have, they have excelled at it. Being here has reminded me of being home, in more ways than I ever could have imagined. Through the roaring laughter, contiguous smiles, reassuring high fives, and even consoling hugs, I can’t help but know that the people I have become close with are now family. Just like much of Ghana I’m still developing and under construction. And through my time here, I learned that whatever ever I decide to do with my life it will have a global impact.

Written August 17th 2016

--

--