It’s happening

Alison Neely
SCU Global Fellows 2016
2 min readJun 25, 2016

With all of the commotion and celebration that came with the end of the school year, the fact that I’m about to spend eight weeks in Ghana kind of slipped my mind. I’ve said the phrase “I’m going to Ghana” so many times in the last few weeks, meeting people’s parents or just talking to other students about summer plans, that it’s honestly lost a little bit of its effect on me. I have my visa in hand, my vaccinations done, and yet I still don’t really feel like it’s real. I know that I’ll be in Kumasi in just a few days, but I’m having trouble wrapping my mind about that reality and what exactly it will mean.

I truthfully have no idea what to expect when I get there, and that both excites me and makes me nervous beyond belief. I’m incredibly nervous for the first few days, because I know that I’m going to be very confused and a little anxious, but I also have faith that I’ll be able to find a balance and some sort of a routine pretty quickly, and settle into life in Kumasi alongside the other Fellows and Bernice and Papa. It’s probably good that I have so few expectations — that way, I won’t be disappointed by what I do find, and each experience will be much more authentic, without the influence of what I initially thought it would be.

Catie and I have both said that the aspect of the trip that we’re most nervous about right now is, weirdly, the food. Neither of us have heard glowing reviews of the Ghanaian food; it’s never a good sign when someone’s first response to hearing where you’ll be traveling is “bring a lot of snacks.” It might be (definitely is) my hypochondriac side talking, but I’m pretty convinced that I got some mild typhoid symptoms from the live vaccine pills that I’ve been taking, and this typhoid preview has me really wary of the main event. These nerves will actually probably translate into more awareness and caution, though, which I guess is a good way to approach things until I’m more comfortable in Ghana. That being said, I’m very aware that I won’t be making it out of this trip without a super weird tasting meal and a semi-serious case of food poisoning, and I’ve pretty much accepted that.

Stay tuned to hear more about the series of curve balls that I’m sure are about to head my way! I’ve never felt more ready and less prepared, simultaneously, in my life. Here we go.

--

--