Comfortable

Nick Fazio
SCU Global Fellows 2018
3 min readJun 20, 2018

Comfortable. This is one word that comes to mind when I try to sum up my days in the U.S. It definitely is not the best word, but for the purpose of this upcoming internship in Kolkata, it seems to fit. I am currently flying to Delhi, India with Abby. Our first stop before connecting to Kolkata. Not too long ago I was driving to the airport with my family. The roads were busy with evening rush hour traffic. Each car idled in lane, waiting for traffic signals to turn green. Many drivers were probably thinking about their family, dinner, favorite tv show, book, and rest. I sat comfortably in the air-conditioned car looking out the window talking with my mother, brother, and sister.

This past weekend I spent some time looking through old photos that my stepmother had from her time in India. The roads pictured looked crowded with cars, motorcycles, and the occasional cow pacing down the middle of the street. I could make out what looked like bustling chaos and was told that horns were used as turning signals. I still do not know what to expect of Kolkata but driving down the road will surely be one of many new experiences.

Spending six weeks in Kolkata will allow me to step back from the habitudes that make me so comfortable in the U.S. while becoming more aware of other ideals, habits, comforts, and much more. The uncertainty and excitement of a new adventure dominate my thoughts right now. However, one aspect of these six weeks in Kolkata that I am most nervous about is witnessing poverty that I have been sheltered from in the U.S. Being confronted by beggars when walking through cities will be difficult and uncomfortable. I know being an American outsider in India for only six weeks makes it difficult to help these people. None-the-less, these will be very powerful and thought-provoking experiences that will stick with me for the rest of my life.

One aspect of this experience that I am most excited about is the fact that it is an incredible opportunity to be immersed in a new culture. Unlike one to two-week trips or even ten weeks in a college classroom, living and working in Kolkata will naturally offer moments of sharing, listening, learning, and so much more. I am really looking forward to conversations and friendships that will develop during the weeks to come. While I will learn more than I can imagine, I hope to share some of my own family practices, ideals, education, and comforts with those whom I meet in India.

Regarding our daily work with the non-profit, ASED, there is so much for us learn. ASED is focused on educating youth and others about the environment with the goal of helping people Be a Force for Nature. With a personal love for the environmental, I look forward to learning more about issues more specific to India. The opportunity to hear about issues and actions being taken will provide opportunities to proactively discuss such important topics.

One worry that has continually crossed my mind is to what scale will I help positively impact ASED. Life isn’t changing for everyone in India with the arrival of us Global Fellows. We are the ones stepping out of our comfort zones and we will probably learn more than anyone we meet. However, no matter what, I know that Owen, Abby, and I will bring great energy to work each day and I look forward to seeing how our perspectives will positively contribute to ASED.

There will be plenty of uncomfortable situations, but this just means more meaningful discussions and more laughter and smiles to come.

--

--