Fast and Slow

Owen O'Mahony
SCU Global Fellows 2018
3 min readJul 19, 2018

Today marks the fourth week of having been in Kolkata, which also means we only have two weeks left here. There are a million more things to see and do before we leave, and yet in retrospect it seems like we have experienced so much. It is extremely difficult to describe living in Kolkata to someone who has never been there to see it firsthand. Though I know I shouldn’t, I find myself sticking with the classic “it’s really good!” response to those who ask. But there is so much more to it. If I had a few minutes to explain to people how Kolkata feels, I would say that life moves fast and slow. I know, I know, that seems contradictory and doesn’t make sense — don’t worry, I’ll get there.

Everything here seems to be going one million miles per hour. Between traffic zipping up and down the roads, stray dogs racing down side streets and alleys in search of sustenance, and our constant desire to see something new or noteworthy, it’s easy to feel like the days are flying by. From an outsider’s perspective, Kolkata seems like a crazy city to be a part of. They’re right! But there is a method to the madness, and within the craziness lies a level of organization that takes a while to understand. If I didn’t keep an organized calendar for work, I probably would not be able to guess that we’ve already been here for four weeks.

Conversely, life here moves a lot slower than what the Global Fellows are used to coming from Santa Clara and the Bay Area. Things take time here, and patience has been tested and, at times, exceeded. For example, someone was supposed to come to fix our wifi today (that has been down for about 5 weeks) at 1PM. Okay, perfect, I’ll be there Mr. Wifi Man. At 2:45, he texted us and said he’d be here at 6. Patience is a virtue that I have in extreme scarcity, apparently. That being said, having almost no connection with the outside world has been nice, and it has given me plenty of time to think about my own life. The differences between American lifestyle and Indian lifestyle are numerous and drastic at times, and I have begun to wonder if my habits here will carry back over. With plenty of time to think, I’m sure I’ll be able to create a vast list of pros and cons.

Life moves both fast and slow, and it is important to embrace both to soak up the experience. I can’t wait to be back with my friends and family in California, but by no means will it be easy to leave this place I have started to call ‘home.’ For now, all I can do is enjoy every second; to quote a very wise man (who chose to spend his days to the fullest), “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

ASED/Destiny/Franklin Templeton Fellows
Awkward family photos
Me and my new pals
From the Baby Taj with love

--

--